Sunday 26 January 2020

National Groups

LGA Asylum and Refugee Task Group

The Asylum and Refugee Task Group is a project managed by the Community Well-being Board.  

This project works in partnership with other LGAs, the ADCS and ADASS, Migration Partnerships and the Home Office to ensure that the interests of local government are fully represented.

Migration Advisory Committee

The Migration Advisory Committee (MAC) advises the government on migration issues. It is a non-statutory, non-time-limited, non-departmental public body, sponsored by the Home Office.

Terms of reference

The MAC provides independent, evidence-based advice to government on specific sectors and occupations in the labour market where shortages exist which can sensibly be filled by migration. The government may, from time to time, ask the MAC to advise on other matters relating to migration.


The MAC is made up of a chair and four other independent economists, who have been appointed under rules relating to public appointments laid down by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA). Additionally, the Commission for Employment and Skills and the UK Border Agency are represented on the committee. You can find out more about the MAC's membership on the link below.

National Asylum Stakeholder Forum

The national asylum stakeholder forum (NASF) was launched by its co-chairs, Matthew Coats, Head of Immigration and Donna Covey, Chief Executive of the Refugee Council on 12 July 2007, when it met for the first time in London.

The Forum was designed to be an open system, promoting dialogue, transparancy and the ability to work in partnership between the Agency and its external stakeholders. Meetings are held every two months.