Membership of Regional Migration Board

For purposes of accountability and credibility, it is important that the Regional Migration Board engages those local authorities that participate in asylum dispersal and refugee resettlement programmes.

The Regional Migration Board comprises 15 (councillor) members, be subject to considerations of political and geographical balance, and include:

  • 1 Representative as nominated by each local authority that participates in asylum dispersal programme (as per COMPASS contacts).
  • 1 Lead Member Children’s Services.
  • 1 Lead Member Adult Social Care.
  • 1 Lead Member Health and Wellbeing Board.

The Regional Migration Board will be supported by the following senior officer advisor group:

  • Lead Officer for East Midlands Strategic Migration Partnership (East Midlands Councils)
  • SOLACE Lead Chief Executive for SVPR programme.
  • 1 Director Children’s Services
  • 1 Director Adult Social Services
  • 1 Director of Public Health
  • Executive Director (East Midlands Councils)

From its membership, the Regional Migration Board will agree lead members roles for each element of the migration partnership’s activity as illustrated by, but not limited to, its sub-groups.The Board can, at its discretion, co-opt additional advisory support on any area of migration activity.

Terms of Reference

The purpose of the Regional Migration Board is to provide decision-making and strategic leadership on matters that relate to migration in the East Midlands and, in particular to: 

  • Agree and oversee arrangements that include asylum dispersal, Syrian Vulnerable Person Resettlement (SVPR) Programme and the National Transfer Scheme for Unaccompanied Asylum Seeking Children (UASCs), as well as children resettled directly from the Middle East and North Africa region and other related refugee programmes. 
  • Provide regional oversight of the co-ordination of different elements of asylum, refugee and wider migration policy and programmes. 
  • Consider and agree the collective position of Local Government in the East Midlands on matters that relate to the delivery of national Government asylum dispersal policy and local area agreements (known as 'cluster areas'), SVPR and UASC programme and associated refugee resettlement programmes. 
  • Ensure strong local government involvement and influence on programme management and service delivery for asylum seekers and refugees at regional and local level. 
  • Consider and agree proposals for any change as they affect the region; and make recommendations to influence and shape proposed new legislation, policy initiatives, and operational change. 
  • Make recommendations to Government and regional/local partners on matters relating to overall regional numbers of dispersed asylum seekers, dispersal cluster areas and cluster numbers, UASC and Syrian Vulnerable Person Resettlement Programme. 
  • Consider any issues relating to support of dispersed asylum seekers, refugees and migrants that impacts upon local government which cannot be resolved at local level and to make recommendations to the appropriate organisation. 
  • Monitor the impact of migration on community cohesion, housing, education, employment, health and other services.

The Role of the Chair

The Chair of the EMSMP shall be a local authority councillor and also be the chair of the Regional Migration Board. The responsibilities of the Chair will include presiding over the SMP's activities, ensuring the SMP meets its performance objectives and representing the region at the national level. In accordance with EMC’s constitution, the chair and vice-chairs will be nominated by EMC political group leaders, subject to political balance considerations.


Regional Migration Board Chair: 

Cllr Alex Dale, Derbyshireshire County Council

     Regional Migration Board Vice Chair: 

Cllr Sarah Russell, Leicester City Council

Upcoming Meeting Dates:

  • - 16/6/2021
  •  10:00 - 12:00
  • - 14/9/2021
  •  10:00 - 12:00
  • /11/2021 - 30/11/2021
  •  10:00 - 12:00

Search Directory

Alison Challenger (Lead DPH)
Colin Pettigrew (Lead Director Children's Services)
Councillor Alex Dale
Councillor Chris Poulter
Councillor James Hakewill
Councillor Jo White
Councillor John Boyce
Councillor Louise Richardson
Councillor Neghat Khan
Councillor Patricia Bradwell
Councillor Paul Skinner
Councillor Richard Wright
Councillor Sarah Russell
Councillor Stephen Woodliffe
Councillor Tony Howard
Councillor Tracey Taylor
John Robinson
Linda Sellars (Lead role for ADASS)
Mayor Andy Abrahams